Gold Fish Memory? Lucky You!

 

 

Copyrights reserved for gopalb

It all started with a tweet, a replay, and a curious cat me!

A question! and I know the answer!

I start writing : “Gold fish are known to have very short memory, some believe that it’s as short as…”

mmm, how short? I wasn’t sure. I knew it was so short that by the time the fish finishes a lab in the tank it will forget its content. But that’s more than a 140 characters tweet can hold.

I needed a number.

where can I find better numbers than on Google? So, lets ask Mr.Google..

I clicked on the first link – a Wikipedia page – and what I found was shocking!

Goldfish have a memory-span of at least three months and can distinguish between different shapes, colors and sounds.[15][16] By using positive reinforcement, goldfish can be trained to recognize and to react to light signals of different colors[17] or to perform tricks, such as the limboslalom, fetch, and soccer.[18] Fish respond to certain colors most evidently in relation to feeding.[citation needed] Fish learn to anticipate feedings provided they occur at around the same time everyday.

I really believed that myth! I felt that I was cheated by the first person who told me this information. How lucky that I can’t remember who that was! I tried unsuccessfully to look for the origin of the myth, if you know it; I’d really want to know too..

 

On a last note; Once upon the time, Everyone knew the Earth is Flat!  it sounds ridiculous nowadays! and we thought that gold fish had 3-seconds- memory span, it sounds ridiculous now too, because we know for a fact that it is just a myth..

Who knows what (Facts) we know today, will sound ridiculous tomorrow?

Until then, be thankful if you have Gold fish-short term memory..

About Afnan Amer

A Medical Intern who likes to think of herself as curious, ambitious, and a Book worm with interest in documentaries and dependence To-Do lists. A believer in social responsibility and the volunteering culture. You were not taught how to talk to remain silent!
هذا المنشور نشر في Really?! وكلماته الدلالية , , , , , , , , , . حفظ الرابط الثابت.

2 Responses to Gold Fish Memory? Lucky You!

  1. وائل يار كتب:

    والله السمك في غرفتي لاحظت انو يعرفني ويعرف اخويا الصغير ..
    ووقت الأكل من يوم ما أفتح غطا الحوض يجي على طول يستنى الاكل ..

    شكراً دكتورة على المعلومات الرائعة..

    :)

  2. Asma كتب:

    Hey,
    Believe it or not its actually shimps who have the memory span of 3 seconds =D

اترك رد

